Growth Spurt

   

I have a cute baby. That’s a major life goal accomplished right there! Of course, it’s more important that she have a good heart. I look forward to teaching her values, in the future. At this rate, it seems like it will be time for that sooner than I think. Time goes so fast when I’m watching Lili grow before my eyes.

Recently, she learned how to open and close her hand on command. I thought it was really cool because it’s the first time I could say something to her and know that she knows exactly what I mean. She can high five, too! Her crawling is a bit uncoordinated, but she will get to something close by if she wants it. I guess her next lessons will be waving, blowing kisses, and clapping her hands?

Oh, you know what’s cool? When we’re reading to her, she can turn the page. I’m happy that she likes being read to. It’s important that she loves to read, like I did. She doesn’t have to do it as much as I did… I don’t really know of anyone who was as obsessed with books as I was, lol… But reading helped form my perspective on the world and put myself in another person’s shoes… Or, Walk Two Moons in another person’s shoes.

I would actually prefer she spent a little less time reading than I did, and more time developing social skills, honestly. I wish for her to be less shy than I was, then maybe growing up will be a little easier for her.

We hung out with my best friend and her kids while they were in town. We went to San Francisco twice. The most fun I’ve seen her have so far is when we visited the Kids’ Discovery Museum by the Golden Gate Bridge (the Marin side). She’s pretty fearless and loves to explore new places and try new things!

   
 
It means a lot to see her have fun… I had fun there even as an adult, but as a mom, her experience there took priority… I wasn’t thinking of my own fun, I was thinking of hers. And she had a lot of it!

At home…

She snatches my glasses off my face. Rude. Lol. But it’s okay, she’s just a baby exploring the world around her.

She likes playing with everyday items, like remotes and cell phones, as much as toys, if not more. I just have to make sure she has her pacifier in her mouth so she doesn’t eat them. And make sure she doesn’t text anybody. Lol.

She can go from lying down, to sitting up, to pulling up to stand in seconds. She is still quite active. And still quite attached… Sometimes she cries when I put her down and clings onto my arm. This is usually when she just woke up , or maybe feeling discomfort from teething. For the most part, she’s in a good mood and pretty easy to watch, but still tiring.

A rough week for Lili is a rough week for me. A rough week will happen when she’s going through a growth spurt, like she did recently. It’s crazy, one day I’ll look at her and see that she’s gotten noticeably bigger, seemingly overnight. But that would explain the shorter naps and fussy moments. Greg says she looks more like a one-year-old than a newborn. She is closer to one now… 7 and a half months.

Where does the time go? It’s the most valuable thing. You can’t get it back. Nothing has taught me that lesson better than watching Lili grow a little every day.

Leave a comment